/ 2021

/ 2020

Travel restrictions in Southern Africa

April / May 2020. 

Angola. Non-Angolans who have recently visited China, France, Iran, Italy, South Korea, Portugal or Spain are not permitted entry into Angola. Angolan citizens and residents arriving from those countries are quarantined.

Botswana. Passengers arriving from Austria, Belgium, China, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, USA or United Kingdom are not allowed to enter Botswana with the exception of Botswana citizens or residents. They are quarantined for 14 days upon their arrival.

Comoros. Flights to Comoros are suspended.

Democratic Republic of Congo. Airports have been closed.

Madagascar. Flights are suspended until 20 April 2020.

Mauritius. Only Mauritian citizens and residents may transit or enter Mauritius, but are quarantined upon arrival.

Mozambique. The Mozambiquan Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade advises against all non-essential travel overseas. 

Namibia. Namibia’s borders are closed until 23 April 2020.

Reunion Island. Restrictions to authorised scheduled and charter flights only.

Seychelles. Seychelles International Airport is closed to all international flights. This excludes emergency and other approved flights. Passengers are prohibited from entering Seychelles.

South Africa. All flights to, from and within South Africa are suspended except for authorised cargo and repatriation flights, emergency flights, aircraft needing refuelling or any humanitarian aid flights. All returning South African citizens or permanent residents entering the country will be quarantined.

Tanzania. Passengers entering Tanzania must undergo quarantine for 14 days. A Health form must be submitted to the Ministry of Health personnel upon arrival.

Zambia. Arriving flights must land at Kenneth Kaunda International Airport. Passengers and airline crew are quarantined for 14 days.

Zimbabwe. A state of emergency was declared on 17 March. Individuals from high-risk countries must postpone travel to Zimbabwe. Individuals with COVID-19 symptoms are admitted to designated isolation centres.

Important Note: The above information was correct as on 4 April 2020. Due to the fluidity and fast-developing nature of the COVID-19 crisis, this information could be updated at any time. AASA cannot accept any liaibility for errors, changes or omissions. Please check directly with the relevant authorities for the latest information.